Meet Melissa, the Newest Member of the Swallow Solutions Team

Recently, the Swallow Solutions staff added a new team member, as Melissa joined the group.
Let’s meet the newest member of the Swallow Solutions team and get to know Melissa!
 
Tell our blog readers a little bit about yourself:
I love traveling and exploring new places, whether it’s in Wisconsin or traveling abroad. I love experiencing different foods and cultures. I’m also an animal lover, dogs in particular.
What are you most excited about with your new position with Swallow Solutions?
I am excited for the opportunity to be a part of a company whose goal is to improve our customers quality of life. It’s inspiring to see everyone here working so hard, and to hear back from a customers that were able to go back to normal, healthy life after using the SwallowSTRONG. It makes all the hard work worth it. I am also excited to be working with this team. Everyone here is so dedicated and close-knit. It’s a great team to work with and learn from.
Now that you’ve learned a bit about swallowing disorders, what strikes you about them? How does it feel working for an organization that helps people with such an essential part of their health?
I was shocked to learn how prevalent dysphasia is. It affects so many lives in such a drastic way and yet the general public does not know much about it. I have had multiple family members lost to, or affected by a swallowing disorder. So for me, working here is a way for me to help make a difference and offer patients the hope and options that were not available to my family. I feel fortunate to be working for a company that helps people go from simply trying to survive, to being able to thrive
again.
Enough about work, let’s talk about leisure. What’s your favorite outside-of-work activity? Any Hobbies?
Outside of work I love spending time with friends and family. I enjoy spending time outdoors whether it’s hiking or going to the lake. But I also like to stay at home watching TV and just having a cozy, lazy day. And of course I love trying new local foods and finding those hidden gems around the city.
What’s your absolute favorite food? 
My weakness is fried food and chocolate. But if I had to choose one favorite? Warm gooey chocolate chip cookies. Not exotic or exciting, but it melts my stress away and satisfies my chocoholic cravings.
What was the last book you read or movie you saw?
The last book I read was The Longest Way Home by Andrew McCarthy. It is about his world travels and how the experiences helped him to find where he belonged in life; learning that we do not need to follow paths laid out before us in life. And just reading about the adventures themselves is pretty entertaining.
What’s your ideal vacation?  
My ideal vacation would be to go to Greece- ideally the islands. The scenery is beautiful, the food is divine, the people are warm, and life is slower. That would be perfect.
Do you have a hidden talent you’re willing to share?
I actually do not think I can do anything I’d call talented. Although I am a pretty good baker. I like doing as much as I can from scratch. And that’s something my mom started teaching me when I was a toddler. My friends tell me my ice-cream cake ruined store bought cakes for them. But I like experimenting with desserts to satisfy my sweet tooth.

Leave a Reply

